Reviews

4.9
based on 41 reviews
Brian & Deb Weller (Toronto, Canada)
What a wonderful vacation home!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Ellen and Stewart at their hilltop villa in beautiful Grenada. The villa was cool at night and we never felt the need to turn on the air conditioning. Located between Grand Anse Beach at St. George, we were close to activities. Sunsets were spectacular and Ellen's dinner's on the pool deck were superb! The dinners were five star and views were one in a million!

Dear Brian and Deb, what a wonderful surprise. We are totally delighted that you enjoyed your stay at "Inside Out" and we will most definitely look forward to another time, hopefully. Thanks so much for taking the time to write up about our super place and my cooking.

replied by the owner (3/31/2017 2:42:30 AM)

Mature couple  |  0  |  stayed in 3/2017

Greg Beamer (St. Augustine, Fl.)
Retired

We have finished a month long stay with Stewart and Ellen at "Inside out". Such a wonderful location overlooking the Carribbean Sea and Grand Anse beach. Unmatched sunsets and the cottage is perfect for two people. Stewart and Ellen are gracious hosts and you will leave sad but knowing you have made wonderful friends. Ellen is an exceptional cook and my wife was able to catch her first billfish on Stewart's boat the "Wayward Wind". Perfect for those who take long vacations and not in a hurry.

What a lovely review; we are as delighted with this as we were to have met you. You are a super dooper couple and thanks so much for saying all these nice things about us. We shall always look forward to another time.

replied by the owner (3/31/2017 2:45:37 AM)

Mature couple  |  0  |  stayed in 1/2017

Marina
A view you'll never forget

'Inside Out' is a beautiful apartment, located in a quiet location and yet you feel as though you are on top of the world, as you look down on Grand Anse which is only a 5 minute drive away. A hire car is essential but this can be arranged through Ellen/Stewart and you then have the freedom to go where you want, when you want. The apartment was well equipped with a very comfortable large bed and was clean and comfortable. The area outside is great for sunbathing/relaxing and the pool is ideal to cool down in. There was always a cooling breeze which was very welcome. Ellen and Stewart were the perfect hosts and if you fancy a days fishing, Captain Stewart is your man. The view from the garden is outstanding and one you will never forget. We would not hesitate to stay with Ellen and Stewart again.

Thank you for sending in this lovely review. It was so nice to meet you and to spend some time together. We will not forget our evening together here with some other friends. Wishing you all the best.

replied by the owner (5/16/2016 1:10:40 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 2/2016

Kevin B.
A third visit for us

From the moment we arrived we felt as though we were at home, and of course it almost is as this was our third visit to Inside Out. We are a late middle aged couple who are tired of the razmataz offered by so many locations not only in the Caribbean but in many other countries around the world. Inside Out provides a peace and tranquilty that is seldom found, the accomodation is first class, the hosts perfect and the situation perched high above Grand Anse unbeatable. Enough superlative commentary from us, come and stay you will not be dissapointed. A bien tot Ellen and Stuart,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,until the next time.

What a fabulous review and we are delighted that you loved it here again and as much as before. Thank you so much. From our point of view, you are most certainly a superb couple and we love having you here. We wish you well in your various ventures and will look forward to another time whenever.

replied by the owner (5/16/2016 2:49:34 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 11/2015

John M.
A wonderful stay

We stayed for 10 days and had a marvellous time. The apartment is well appointed and has the best views in Grenada. Ellen and Stewart were very helpful from our pick up at the airport to arranging car hire (essential) with Lorry. We had a couple of meals prepared by Ellen which were excellent. The passion fruit pannacotta is to die for! The pool is nicely kept and very clean. Ellen and Stewart know the island well and are able to offer any advice you may need. Bedding was changed every 3 days. The apartment has 2 showers and one large bedroom with a very large comfortable bed. We would love to go back again and we strongly recommend it.

Hello John and Ann, Thank you for sending in such a lovely review. We enjoyed your stay with us and are very happy that you spent such a good time in Grenada and at "Inside Out". Thank you for singing our praises. We would love to have you back in Grenada and of course to stay here again; it will be our pleasure. We very much look forward to the next time. Very best Ellen

replied by the owner (5/16/2016 2:50:37 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 1/2015

Kevin B. (United Kingdom)
So we good we have returned.

We enjoyed our first visit to Inside Out in December 2013 so much we just had to return. Our second visit even more enjoyable than our first. Ellen and Stewart the perfect hosts, their garden is a provider of glorious tropical fruits it was our luck that when we stayed passion fruits and other fruits were in abundance and available for us to enjoy every day. PERFECT. I am not going to say any more as I have said it all before in my previous reviews and also just in case too many discover this gem that when we wish to make our next visit Inside Out is already booked!!! Thank you again Ellen and Stewart, and so pleased that naughty Crystal and Alpha found their way back. We have just booked again for 2015. Review Submitted: Dec 18, 2014 Date of Stay: Oct 2014 Source: HomeAway

Thank you so much Kevin and Jenny for coming back to us and for sending in another splendid review. We were so pleased that you booked a return visit and that now you will be coming back to us for a third time! It will be wonderful to see you again and already we are looking forward to having you here. The passion fruit is still flowering and producing so much fruit that we are able to supply several of our neighbours! A very Happy Christmas and great New Year from us.

replied by the owner (5/16/2016 5:32:47 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 10/2014

Mark S. (United Kingdom)
Fantastic apartment!

What a great apartment! Where to start?? Ok, so first of all the apartment is on top of a hill, a big hill! So the views over Grand Anse beach are amazing and you get some fantastic sunsets too! Then there's the pool, it's lovely, totally secluded and perfect for cooling off in, with loads of recliners and tables and chairs around it. Then there's the apartment itself, almost all the wall space is given over to opening windows that have mesh on the front which keeps the inside bug free! and means it's cool, there's a fully kitted out kitchen, two bathrooms and a brilliantly comfortable huge bed in the bedroom! Then there's the 6 lovely Jack Russells and 2 big (but not scary) Rottweiler's - their antics, as you watch them unseen from above, are hilarious! The apartment is less than a 5 minute drive from Grand Anse beach - you must try the Carriacou Love Bites, Conch Fritters and Jack Daniels glazed chicken wings at Umbrellas on the beach. The best beach is back towards the airport look for sings to the Beach House restaurant - walk down the paths either side of the fences surrounding the Beach House and you are on Dr Grooms beach - stunning! And in September almost deserted! But there are so many great places to eat and beaches to visit and Grenada is small enough to drive around in a few hours - we know we did it! Lastly, and by no means leastly, there's the owners Ellen and Stewart in their house right next door. We didn't meet Stewart, he was off visiting family in the UK, but Ellen was the most wonderful host. She really made us feel so welcome, from collecting us at the airport and rustling up something for 2 weary travellers to eat on their first night, to the really thoughtful bottle of sparkling wine and card for our wedding anniversary and advice on things to do and places to eat out in; nothing was too much. I have to say at the end of our week we both had a little tear in our eyes as we said good bye to Ellen and "Inside Out". We really hope to return some time in the not too distant future! Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2014 Date of Stay: Sep 2014 Source: HomeAway

Mark and Adriana We are so happy that you liked our slice of paradise so much. It was my total pleasure to meet and welcome you to our beautiful island and home and it was wonderful to see you enjoy your stay here. Thank you so much for sending in such an amazing review. We shall look forward to another day, another year when we hope too that you will be able to return. Ellen and Stewart

replied by the owner (5/16/2016 5:31:58 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 9/2014

Cheryl L. (USA)
Above it all!

My husband and I were in Grenada to search for a property, as he is originally from Grenada, and we plan to move back one day. We chose not to stay with family so that we may experience another section of the island. We could not have made a better choice (and he is from there!). Everything described is better than the words! The privacy is wonderful. The sounds of nature are so calming and the pictures don't say enough. The ability to stand at the edge of the property and look at all the views is close to one of those rare opportunities in life! (depending on which side of the bed you sleep on, you wake up to them as well!) Ellen and Stewart are absolutely wonderful and have a fantastic sense of humor. The security team is amazing as well, can almost carry a tune and are hilariously fun to hang around! We were very busy and had long days and slept well and comfortably. No A/C needed! The mountain breeze is much cooler than an ocean breeze and was perfect for the middle of the summer. We did not have the chance to eat Ellen's cooking, but the scents escaping their home were mouth watering. The ability to use a cell phone during our stay was life saving with all the calls we had to make! Every detail was thought of! We will be making many trips back to Grenada and hope to stay at "Inside Out" our home away from home again and again! Review Submitted: Jul 12, 2014 Date of Stay: Jul 2014 Source: HomeAway

Dear Cheryl and Philip We enjoyed having you stay at "Inside Out" and it was lovely to meet you. We are very happy to know that you liked it here so much and we will look forward to meeting up again and again. Thank you for sending in such a wonderful review, it is entirely our pleasure knowing that we made your time here this good. Ellen and Stewart

replied by the owner (5/16/2016 5:26:49 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 7/2014

Joy L.
So sad to leave !!

We stayed at the Inside Out guest house for the month of April 2014 and were very sad to leave. Ellen and Stewart were awesome hosts - friendly, funny and helpful in so many ways that enabled us to get the most out of our trip to Grenada and experience the island culture. They were never intrusive, we had plenty of privacy and enjoyable chats with them. We enjoyed Ellen's curry night immensely as well as her selection of preserves some of which came home with us! Having a pay-as-you-go cell phone provided was a great plus for us. The accommodations were wonderful - the view is spectacular; sailboats, amazing sunsets and the twinkling lights of Grand Anse beach below. The pool was lovely and refreshing. The kitchen is well equipped and we enjoyed cooking up breakfast and dinner with all the fresh local produce available in the grocery store and small fruit & veggie stands. There are two nice bathrooms with large tiled showers so we were able to have "his and her" bathrooms. As well there are two large wardrobes so we had plenty of room to store our belongings. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed seeing the lights of grand Anse beach through the window. Sleeping was no issue as it cooled off at night and the many windows allowed the breeze to blow through. Rose, the cleaning lady, did an excellent job of keeping the place spotless for us. Ellen has a separate washing machine for guests and it was heaven to hang our clothes on the line to dry. We wanted to get a lot of exercise while we were in Grenada so we did not rent a car - but that would be a good option. From the main road we often took the local bus/vans to explore and enjoyed it very much. Walking back up the hill is a workout and doing it later in the day is advisable. We took a taxi back up when we bought groceries at the fully equipped grocery store at spiceland mall - a short walk from the beach. Make sure you try the local cooking from the deli ! The walk down to the beach was very enjoyable - once you come to the main road if you turn right and walk a bit down the street past the post office there are steps leading down to the beautiful beach. We took the golf course hill route as it is less steep. Stewart and Ellen's dogs are very sweet and friendly. The property is fenced and gated and the stairs to the upper level are gated at the bottom so the dogs stay at the lower level. We loved our stay at Inside Out and the people of Grenada and were so sad to leave ! Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2014 Date of Stay: Mar 2014 Source: HomeAway

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us for one month. It was wonderful to see you enjoying all the pleasures up on our hill - the views of course, drinks on the patio, bbq in the evenings, amazing sunsets to mention a few. Thank you for a super review, it makes us very happy knowing that you enjoyed Grenada and "Inside Out" so much. We hope to meet up again one day.

replied by the owner (5/16/2016 5:31:05 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 3/2014

David G. (United Kingdom)
An idyllic setting for a wonderful time in Grenada

My wife and I spent a month early in 2014 staying in this fantastic property. We had a wonderful time in this comfortable and easily maintained apartment. The property is situated in an elevated position overlooking Grand Anse beach – its situation and orientation could not be more perfect. The apartment is within the grounds and across a terrace from the owners’ property. We enjoyed our conversations with the owners without impinging on our privacy and independence. The owners were consummate and generous hosts who provided help with any practical matters when needed. The apartment is accurately described and it met our needs perfectly. The living room is very comfortably furnished. The kitchen provides every facility needed for a self-catering holiday, with full sized hob and oven, as well as 2 fridges which meant that we did not need to shop every day. There is a table and 2 chairs if we wanted to eat indoors. The owners had provided adequate cutlery, crockery and glasses. There were enough pans for cooking. There are 2 bathrooms, each with a toilet and walk in shower. There was always ample hot water at a very reasonable pressure. The bedroom had plenty of storage. We found the bed to be very comfortable and the quality bed linen provided meant that we slept very soundly indeed. The wi-fi worked well which meant we could keep up with family back in the UK. The attractive terrace provided a wealth of different opportunities to enjoy al fresco living. We never tired of the sumptuous views. Our preferred holiday making involves plenty of sightseeing, walking and dining. There is so much to see on Grenada – we found having a hire car a necessity to benefit fully from all that the island has to offer. Furthermore, without a car, walking up the hill from the main west coast road would have been an ordeal considering the high temperatures. (The owner can arrange car hire through a neighbour at very favourable rates). The proximity of the apartment to two fabulous beaches at Grand Anse and Morne Rouge makes this apartment the ideal location for holiday makers who want to enjoy a relaxing break. On a practical level, the two largest supermarkets on the island are within a 10 minute drive. I would like to thank the owners for helping to make our holiday such a memorable one. I always had prompt replies to my emails in the lead up to our holiday. I would have no hesitation in recommending this property to future holiday makers. Review Submitted: Feb 20, 2014 Date of Stay: Jan 2014 Source: HomeAway

Thank you Gill and David for sending in such a super review. We were looking forward to meeting you and our pleasure in having you with us for a whole month did not diminish - you were wonderful guests. What a shame that you have so many other countries to explore because you could have come back to Grenada, well, perhaps you will one day. We wish you well on your future travels and hope to see you another time.

replied by the owner (5/16/2016 5:26:06 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 1/2014

Book Now
Loading...
Upps!
You're running a web browser we don't fully support. Please upgrade it for a better experience.
Our site works best with Google Chrome.
How to upgrade the browser